Into the Forest

Mandy Haggith

Mandy Haggith lives in Assynt in the northwest Highlands of Scotland, where she combines writing with sailing, environmental activism and teaching – she is a lecturer in literature and creative writing at the University of the Highlands and Islands. Her first novel, The Last Bear, won the Robin Jenkins Literary Award for environmental writing in 2009. Bear Witness was published in 2013 and Into the Forest followed shortly after.

The Lyre Dancers is her fifth novel and the third in the Stone Stories trilogy, which began with The Walrus Mutterer (2018), longlisted for the Highland Book Prize, and continued with The Amber Seeker (2019).

Mandy is also the author of three poetry collections, a non-fiction book and numerous essays, and the editor of a poetry anthology.

Into the Forest

An Anthology of Tree Poems

by Mandy Haggith

  • RRP: £20 (print)
  • Format: Hardback
  • ISBN: 9781908643186


Buy Into the Forest

The majesty and beauty of trees have inspired poets for centuries, and this magnificent anthology brings together the finest poems from around the world celebrating trees. Featuring poetry giants such as Seamus Heaney, Robert Frost, Gerard Manley Hopkins, Robert Burns, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Sylvia Plath and Ted Hughes, ‘Into the Forest’ includes poems related to the Tree Ogham (Gaelic) tree alphabet, which links a species to each letter. Tapping into the growing public passion for woods and trees, ‘Into the Forest’ is the only stand-alone tree poetry anthology in print, and is a must for both nature lovers and poetry enthusiasts.

REVIEWS OF Into the Forest

“'Exciting and beautifully illustrated.'” - David Borthwick Read more

“'A delight.'” - Elizabeth M Rimmer Read more

"Beautifully illustrated…... Unmissable." - Scottish Poetry Library Read more