Books > Fiction > The Dead Don’t Boogie

The Dead Don’t Boogie

  • RRP: £8.99 (print) / £3.99 (ebook)
  • Format: Paperback
  • Extent: 240 pages
  • Dimensions (mm): 198 x 129
  • ISBN: 9781910192443
  • Ebook ISBN: 9781910192450
  • Genres: Crime & thriller, Fiction
  • Book tags: crime, glasgow, thriller
  • Publication date: September 8, 2016


Where to buy

A missing teenage girl should be an easy job for Dominic Queste – after all, finding lost souls is what he does best. But wouldn’t it be better sometimes if lost souls just stayed that way?

Jenny Deavers is trouble, especially for an ex- cokehead like Queste. She’s being hunted. And for the people tracking her, murder is nothing.

As the bodies pile up, so does the pressure on Queste both to protect Jenny and to find out who wants her dead. The trail leads him to a brutal world of gangsters, merciless hitmen, dark family secrets and an insatiable lust for power in the highest echelons of politics.

REVIEWS OF The Dead Don’t Boogie

“Fast-paced, funny and frightening – Dominic Queste’s first outing supplies it all.” Lin Anderson

“Absolutely brilliant ... vastly entertaining ... takes Skelton into the crime fiction big league.” Alex Gray

“Smart, sassy and funny as hell.” Neil Broadfoot

“If you like your humour black and your detective novels hard boiled, this is a cut above the rest.” Theresa Talbot

“Dark noir at its finest ... compulsive reading. One of the best crime novels I have read in a long time." Mark Leggatt

“A white-knuckle, wisecracking thrill-ride.” Caro Ramsay

Trade information

The Dead Don’t Boogie

About the author

Douglas Skelton

Douglas Skelton is a crime writer who specialises in the darker side of things: he’s a former journalist who has published 11 books on true crime and criminal history. In 2011 he made the leap to writing crime fiction with a hugely successful series of thrillers featuring Davie McCall, a Glasgow hard man with a heart. The final novel in the series, Open Wounds, has been shortlisted for the 2016 William McIlvanney Prize. The Dead Don’t Boogie is his fifth novel and begins a new series with maverick investigator Dominic Queste. The second in the series is Tag – You’re Dead, released in April 2017.