NorthBound Book Award 2023 – open for entries!

Posted on August 15, 2023

Calling Writers in the North of England!

Do you live in the North of England and have an unpublished manuscript you’d love to see published? If so, you can submit now for the NorthBound Book Award, whether or not your work has been published before, and with or without an agent.

The NorthBound Book Award is an annual writing prize in which Saraband publishes the winning book. It is run with partners New Writing North and the University of York, with judges from each organistion on the panel, plus a guest writer. The prize is for new, emerging and established writers based in the north of England.

If you have a full-length manuscript, either fiction or narrative non-fiction, and are based in the North of England, enter the prize by September 12th for the chance to be crowned the winner of the NorthBound Book Award 2023, winning a £5,000 advance against royalties and publication with Saraband.

Click here to read more about eligibility and how to enter.

The Story So Far

The winners of the award so far have gone on to have their books published and have received prestigious national prize nominations, excellent reviews and international attention.

Northbound winners

Previous winners of the NorthBound Book Award:

Julia Rampen for The Bay

“One of my favourite books of the year so far. Highly recommended.”
—Anne Cater, critic and reviewer

“Compassionate … compelling and incredibly tense … so moving …  but also full of humour, and precise and beautiful description.”
—Emma Healey, author of Elizabeth is Missing

Adam Farrer for Cold Fish Soup

“A nuanced, well-structured and memorable memoir; it deservedly won the Northbound Book Award.”
—Times Literary Supplement

“Witty and introspective … moving … elegiac.”
—Publishers Weekly (USA)

Shortlisted for the Zebralution Audiobook Award at the IPG Awards 2023

John D. Rutter for Approval

“Creative and concise … a worthy winner of the NorthBound Award, it’s an emotionally engaging sequence of vignettess.”
—Alastair Mabbott, Herald

J.A. Mensah for Castles from Cobwebs

“Real, powerful, and unique.” Chitra Ramaswamy

Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Award 2021

Shortlisted for the Chambéry International First Novel Festival 2022

Named among the 50 Most Notable Books from Africa 2021 (Brittle Paper list)